Biography of David E. Moore

Download as pdf file

David Moore, a vocal acrobat who soars from the dance floors of Europe with his House music productions, to his all-inspiring Gospel concerts as well as Classical music with ease. His is an outstanding talent that stands out from crowds of gimmicks, flashy clothes and pretty faces.

Credited by many as having one of today’s most spectacular voices, vocalist and songwriter David Moore has seen thousands rise to their feet for his inspiring, powerhouse performances. His audiences have included the King and Queen of Sweden, Heads of State and U.S. ambassadors.

Born in Pittsburgh, PA, David called Stuttgart, Germany, home for many years, and Bochum, Germany, is his current residence. A graduate of the University of Berkley (Berkley, CA), he has a Bachelors Degree in Information Systems and a Masters Degree in Personnel Management from the University of Maryland in Virginia.

In 1980 David joined the U.S. Air Force. This provided him the opportunity to expand his cultural awareness of the world. He spent most of his time in Europe: Turkey, Greece, Spain, Italy, Germany, but was also stationed in Australia, Korea, the Philippines and Central America.

David started his musical career in 1993. Through a chance meeting with legendary musical producer Sir Cameron Mackintosh, he landed a role in the original German cast of Miss Saigon in Stuttgart. Within a year he had taken over one of the leading roles (John). Soon there after, he was chosen by Andrew Lloyd Webber to star as Papa in the 10 year anniversary run of Starlight Express. In 2009, David returned by special request to Starlight Express in Bochum to revive his role as Papa for the 25th anniversary, remaining until 2016.

In addition to those icons already mentioned, David has also worked with greats like Vernon Mound (dec’d) or Harold Prince to name others. He’s been seen in leading roles in more than 17 major musicals, thus carving himself a permanent place in the European musicals scene.

Not satisfied with just musicals, he has shared the stage with some of the greatest artists in the business such as Joe Cocker, Tracy Chapman, Tina Turner, The Weather Girls, La Bouche, Jessy Norman, Tom Novy and Mousse T. He even represented the USA at the closing ceremony of the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, Greece.

In 2017, David completed his debut as director with the new production of the musical MONSTER HIGH LIVE by Thomas Schwab.

Biografie von David E. Moore

Download als pdf

David Moore ist ein Stimmenakrobat, der sein Publikum mit inspirierenden Gospelkonzerten und klassischer Musik verzaubert, aber auch begeisterte Fans mit seiner House Music in Europas Nachtclubs findet. Mit seinem überragenden Talent sticht er hervor aus der Masse von Künstlern, glitzernder Kleidung und schönen Gesichtern.

Sänger und Liedschreiber David Moore findet mit einer der spektakulärsten Stimmen von heute große Anerkennung und bewegt Tausende von Menschen in seinen faszinierenden, energiegeladenen Auftritten. In seinem Publikum befanden sich sogar der König und die Königin von Schweden, Staatsmänner und US-Botschafter.

David E. Moore wurde in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, geboren, nannte Stuttgart lange Zeit sein Zuhause und wohnt derzeit in Bochum. Sein Studium an der Universität von Berkley, Kalifornien, schloss David mit einem Bachelor in Information Systems ab. An der University of Maryland, Virginia, graduierte er mit einem Master in Personnel Management.

1980 trat er in die US Air Force ein und erweiterte auf diese Weise sein kulturelles Weltbild. Er war hauptsächlich in Europa stationiert (Türkei, Griechenland, Spanien, Italien und Deutschland), aber auch in Australien, Korea, Mittelamerika und auf den Philippinen.

1993 begann schließlich Davids musikalische Karriere. Nach einem zufälligen Treffen mit dem Musical-Produzenten Sir Cameron Mackintosh wurde David für die Erstbesetzung in der Originalaufführung von Miss Saigon in Stuttgart engagiert. Schon innerhalb des ersten Jahres spielte er die Hauptrolle des John. Kurze Zeit später wählte ihn Andrew Lloyd Webber für die Besetzung des 10-jährigen Bühnenjubiläums der deutschen Produktion von Starlight Express aus. David übernahm hier die Rolle des Papa. 2009 kehrte er auf besonderen Wunsch zu Starlight Express nach Bochum zurück, um seine Rolle als Papa für das 25-jährige Jubiläum neu zu beleben, und spielte dort bis 2016.

Neben den bereits erwähnten Ikonen, arbeitete David mit Größen wie Vernon Mound (†) oder Harold Prince zusammen. Er hat in mehr als 17 Musicals Hauptrollen übernommen und ist aus der europäischen Musicalszene nicht mehr wegzudenken.

David hat sich nicht nur durch Musicals einen Namen gemacht. Bei der Abschlusszeremonie der Olympischen Spiele 2004 in Athen repräsentierte David die USA und bei vielen Shows stand er zusammen mit großen Stars auf der Bühne, wie z. B. Joe Cocker, Tracy Chapman, Tina Turner, The Weather Girls, La Bouche, Jessy Norman, Tom Novy und Mousse T.

2017 absolvierte David sein Debut als Regisseur mit der Neu-Inszenierung des Musicals MONSTER HIGH LIVE von Thomas Schwab.